Locally-owned Eagle Wing Tours was honoured November 29th by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) at the 2016 Canadian Tourism Awards Ceremony at the Hilton Lac-Leamy, Gatineau, Quebec. This was their second time winning this prestigious award, which they last received in 2014. Last year they were runners-up in the VISA CANADA Traveller Experience of the Year award.

“Tonight’s Canadian Tourism Awards have showcased our diverse industry to the fullest. Myself and everyone at TIAC are honoured to recognize the outstanding innovation, dedication and expertise all of our nominees and winners have put forward. Recognizing and celebrating these accomplishments is very important, as these industry successes ensure that Canada continues to be seen as a world-class destination,” said TIAC President and CEO, Charlotte Bell.

Both Don Stewart and Brett Soberg, owners of Eagle Wing Tours, were in attendance for this presentation.

The TRANSAT AT Inc. Sustainable Tourism Award is presented to an organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the practice and promotion of sustainable tourism in Canada. Judging criteria included showing how a company:

  • Protects and preserves natural and cultural heritage resources
  • Fosters appreciation and enjoyment of natural and cultural heritage resources
  • Raises awareness among visitors and influences them to enjoy resources sustainably
  • Mitigates negative impacts of tourism on the natural and cultural environment
  • Respects, involves and engages other stakeholders and host communities.

 “Eagle Wing Tours is and will continue to be a leader in sustainable, responsible ecotourism in Victoria and around the world. We are continually recreating what we think a sustainable whale and wildilfe watching company should be. We are extremely proud to receive this award on behalf of all our employees and pleased to see that others are finally following the path that we have started, making the entire whale watching sector in the Pacific Northwest better,” said Brett Soberg.

The Canadian Tourism Awards are presented annually by TIAC to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada’s tourism industry, and to reward those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to offer travellers superior tourism experiences in Canada.

For more information contact

Mika Ogilvie

Social Sustainability Manager